This site uses cookies and similar technologies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, and personalize content. By clicking "I Accept" on this banner or continuing to use this site, you are consenting to the use of cookies. For more details on how we use cookies, see our Privacy Notice.

American Ballet Theatre's The Nutcracker

Presented by presented by
Venue: Segerstrom Hall Tickets start at $30.00


“This Nutcracker is cracking good!” raved the New York Post when American Ballet Theatre premiered this delectable holiday favorite. As the lights dim and Tchaikovsky’s beautiful score fills the air, young Clara enters a dreamlike journey amid magical toy soldiers, mischievous mice, sparkling snowflakes and a glittering Christmas tree! With an impressive cast of more than 100 performers, ABT’s The Nutcracker features set and costumes by Richard Hudson (Tony Award winner, The Lion King), with choreography by ABT Artist in Residence Alexei Ratmansky. The Orange County Register praised it as a “… colorful, cinematic creation filled with spectacle, humor and eye-popping costumes.”

Music: Peter Ilyitch Tchaikovsky, performed by Pacific Symphony
Choreography: Alexei Ratmansky
Set and Costume Designer: Richard Hudson
Lighting Designer: Jennifer Tipton

Principal Casting

ABT Artistic Director Kevin McKenzie has released principal casting which will include Hee Seo as Clara, the Princess, and Cory Stearns as The Nutcracker Prince on Opening Night, Friday, December 10. * Indicates first time in role.

Friday, December 10 at 7 p.m. – Hee Seo, Cory Stearns
Saturday, December 11 at 2 p.m. – Skylar Brandt*, Herman Cornejo
Saturday, December 11 at 7 p.m. – Christine Shevchenko, Thomas Forster
Sunday, December 12 at 12:30 p.m. – Devon Teuscher*, Joo Won Ahn
Sunday, December 12 at 5:30 p.m. -- Skylar Brandt*, Herman Cornejo

Wednesday, December 15 at 7 p.m.- Isabella Boylston, James Whiteside
Thursday, December 16 at 7 p.m. – Catherine Hurlin*, Aran Bell
Friday, December 17 at 7 p.m. -- Devon Teuscher, Joo Won Ahn
Saturday, December 18 at 2 p.m. -- Hee Seo, Cory Stearns
Saturday, December 18 at 7 p.m. -- Christine Shevchenko, Thomas Forster
Sunday, December 19 at 12:30 p.m. - Isabella Boylston, James Whiteside
Sunday, December 19 at 5:30 p.m. - Catherine Hurlin, Aran Bell

Artists and program subject to change.
* Indicates first time performing the role.

Audience Advisory: Please note that there is no late seating for this performance.
All ticket holders must wear a mask AND provide proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 or a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken within 72 hours of performance. Guests over the age of 18 must also bring photo ID.

Interest Tags:

Program Info